What happens when I reset my Moodle course?
- You are deleting all or selected user data from your course. You are not deleting any resources or activities.
- You will be presented with a list of options for reset as shown in the screenshot below. Your list of choices will depend on which activities you use in your course and may look slightly different depending on your Moodle version.
- Be sure you want to delete user data, before choosing to reset your course. Check to make sure that you do not have to keep a copy of user data in your course.
- Always backup your course first before doing a reset of your course. If your school or institution does not allow you to make a backup with users, you may want to export your gradebook first or save user reports in your gradebook as a pdf.
- Reset of a course is not undoable.
Note: Beneath the screenshot image are two tutorial videos on how to reset a course.
Video Link: How to Reset a Moodle Course – SchoolTube In this video the first 3 minutes explain how to save user reports in the GradeBook as a pdf file. This may be especially beneficial if you do not have priviliges to back up your course with users. If you are not interested in this option, simply scroll to the 3 minute mark to view the tutorial on resetting a course. (Link opens in a new tab or window depending on your personal browser settings.)
Blog post on doing a Reset of a course: Refreshing Moodle for new school year at Adventures in Online Teaching (Link opens in a new tab or window depending on your personal browser settings.)